2014 MLS Schedule Released, Sporting KC to open in Seattle

Jamie Squire

Sporting Kansas City will begin their 2014 MLS campaign with a trip to Seattle and will close with New York.

In the earliest schedule announcement in MLS history, the 2014 schedule has been released two weeks before the 2013 season is even over.

Sporting Kansas City will open the season with an afternoon start in Seattle on March 8th on NBC Sports before opening their home slate against FC Dallas on March 15th. There will be a two week break during the group stage of the World Cup in which Graham Zusi and Matt Besler are likely to be called up for the United States national team.

Sporting gets to travel to all three Cascadia stadiums next year after hosting all three in 2013, providing what will be a tough Western Conference road schedule. Sporting opens up the season playing five straight Western Conference opponents, not playing an Eastern Conference team until their April 19th matchup with the Montreal Impact.

Sporting KC will play the Houston Dynamo and the Columbus Crew twice while playing all of the other Eastern Conference teams three times. They will, of course, only play their Western Conference opponents once.

Sporting KC gets 12 nationally televised games as shown on the schedule below. All other MLS regular season games will be on 38 the spot, Sporting KC's new television station.

Here is the full schedule courtesy of SportingKC.com

Date

Opponent

Time

TV

Notes

Sat., March 8

at Seattle Sounders FC

2pm

NBCSN

Opening match of MLS season

Sat., March 15

vs FC Dallas

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

KC is 11-2-5 in home openers

Sat., March 22

vs San Jose Earthquakes

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

KC has 8 straight home wins vs SJ

Sat., March 29

at Colorado Rapids

5pm

KMCI-TV

KC unbeaten in 9 vs COL since '09

Sat., April 5

vs Real Salt Lake

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

MLS Cup 2013 (Dec. 7) rematch

Sat., April 19

vs Montreal Impact

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

MF Davy Arnaud returns to KC

Sat., April 26

at New England Revolution

6:30pm

KMCI-TV

23 wins vs NE, most of any team

Sun., May 4

vs Columbus Crew

3pm

NBCSN

Sporting KC swept 2013 series

Sat., May 10

at Montreal Impact

TBD

KMCI-TV

1st of six MLS games in 22 days

Wed., May 14

vs Philadelphia Union

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

First midweek MLS match of year

Sun., May 18

at Chicago Fire

2pm

KMCI-TV, UniMas

Rivals open 3-game season series

Fri., May 23

vs Toronto FC

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

1st of 8 Friday night MLS matches

Tues., May 27

vs New York Red Bulls

8pm

ESPN2

Top 2 teams in 2013 regular season

Sat., May 31

at D.C. United

6pm

KMCI-TV

Last two US Open Cup champions

Fri., June 6

at Houston Dynamo

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

2013 Eastern Conf. Final rematch

Fri., June 27

at Portland Timbers

10pm

NBCSN

Valeri's 13 assists led MLS in 2013

Sun., July 6

vs Chicago Fire

2pm

ESPN

KC at half-way point in reg. season

Sat., July 12

at Montreal Impact

TBD

KMCI-TV

Canadian Championship winners

Wed., July 16

at Columbus Crew

6:30pm

KMCI-TV

New Crew coach Gregg Berhalter

Sat., July 19

vs LA Galaxy

5pm

ESPN2

Keane and Donovan lead LA

Sat., July 26

at Toronto FC

TBD

KMCI-TV

4-time Canadian champs

Fri., Aug. 1

vs Philadelphia Union

7pm

NBCSN

1 of 7 games (4 home) on NBCSN

Sun., Aug. 10

at Vancouver Whitecaps

TBD

KMCI-TV

Camilo's 22 goals led MLS in 2013

Sat., Aug. 16

vs Toronto FC

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

TFC aim for 1st playoff berth in '14

Sat., Aug. 23

vs D.C. United

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

KC unbeaten in last 7 vs D.C.

Fri., Aug. 29

vs Houston Dynamo

7pm

NBCSN

Have met in playoffs last 3 years

Wed., Sept. 3

at New England Revolution

6:30pm

KMCI-TV

Eastern Conf. Semifinals rematch

Sat., Sept. 6

at New York Red Bulls

6pm

KMCI-TV

Henry and Cahill lead NY

Sat., Sept. 13

at Chivas USA

9:30pm

KMCI-TV

Last match vs Western Conf. club

Fri., Sept. 26

vs New England Revolution

7pm

NBCSN

2nd meeting of month vs Revs

Fri., Oct. 3

at D.C. United

7pm

NBCSN

DC first team in 2014-15 CCL

Fri., Oct. 10

vs Chicago Fire

7:30pm

KMCI-TV

New Fire coach Frank Yallop

Sat., Oct. 18

at Philadelphia Union

TBD

KMCI-TV

KC won twice at PPL Park in 2013

Sun., Oct. 26

vs New York Red Bulls

7:30pm

ESPN

KC is 8-1-5 in MLS finales since '00

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Blue Testament

You must be a member of The Blue Testament to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Blue Testament. You should read them.

Join The Blue Testament

You must be a member of The Blue Testament to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Blue Testament. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker