clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 MLS Combine Begins Today: Stream Combine Matches Live On


With all of the rage being the release of the 2012 MLS regular season schedule, it's easy to forget that this year's MLS combine starts today. This year the combine will take place at Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and will last from January 6th until January 10th.

The combine gives MLS coaches and scouts a chance to see some of the best prospects for the upcoming MLS SuperDraft, as these prospects take part in various matches, drills, interviews, etc.

This year, MLS is attempting to give the fans more access to the combine happenings than in previous years, and one of the more interesting aspects of the 2012 combine is that MLS is allowing fans to stream combine matches on

Prospects will be divided into four teams for these matches (team rosters can be found here). The teams this season are named; adiPower, Prime, adiPure, and adiZero. Each team will play three matches over the course of the next four days. The first set of matches will take place later today, as adiPower take on Prime at 1:45 PM CDT, and adiPure take on adiZero at 3:30 PM CDT. The rest of the matches and match times are listed below:

Sunday, January 8:
adiPower vs. adiZero 1:30 PM CDT
Prime vs. adiPure 3:25 PM CDT

Tuesday, January 10:
adiZero vs. Prime 9 AM CDT
adiPower vs. adiPure 10:55 AM CDT

The following are players that have been invited to take part in the 2012 MLS Combine, followed by this year's Generation Adidas class:

2012 MLS Combine Invitees

GOALKEEPERS (4): Brian Rowe (UCLA); Chris Blais (University of South Florida); Jhojan Obando (Providence); Ryan Meara (Fordham);

DEFENDERS (16): Aaron Maund (Notre Dame); Andrew Duran (Creighton); Aubrey Perry (University of South Florida); Austin Berry (Louisville); Charles Rodriguez (UNC Charlotte); Chris Estridge (Indiana); Diogo de Almeida (SMU); Hunter Jumper (Virginia); James Kiffe (UC Santa Barbara); Justin Chavez (Tulsa); Matt Hedges (UNC); Mykell Bates (Santa Clara University); Nick Blake (UConn); Pat Sigler (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo); Shawn Singh (UCLA); Tommy Meyer (Indiana);

MIDFIELDERS (19): Alec Purdie (Indiana); Andy Rose (UCLA); Arthur Ivo (SMU); Brendan King (Notre Dame); Calum Mallace (Marquette); Christian Barreiro (UPenn); Eder Arreola (UCLA); Greg Jordan (Creighton); Kenney Walker (Louisville); Kevan George (UCF); Kirk Urso (UNC); Lance Rozenboom (New Mexico); Luis Silva (UC Santa Barbara); Michael Green (New Mexico); Miguel Ibarra (UC Irvine); Nick DeLeon (Louisville); Rafael Garcia (Cal State Northridge); Tony Walls (University of Wisconsin-Green Bay); Warren Creavalle (UCF)

FORWARDS (13): Antoine Hoppenot (Princeton); Billy Schuler (UNC) (will not participate, signing with Hammerby in Sweden); Brian Ownby (Virginia); Bryan Gaul (Bradley); Casey Townsend (Maryland); Colin Rolfe (Louisville); Ethan Finlay (Creighton); Evan James (UNC Charlotte); Evans Frimpong (Delaware); Karo Okiomah (High Point); Luckymore Mkosana (Dartmouth); Luke Holmes (Akron); Tony Cascio (UConn).

Generation Adidas Class

Darren Mattocks (Akron), Andrew Wenger (Duke), Kelyn Rowe (UCLA), Chandler Hoffman (UCLA), Sam Garza (UCSB), Enzo Martinez (North Carolina), Dom Dwyer (South Florida), Tyler Polak (Creighton), Andrew Jean-Baptiste (UConn)