clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USWNT: Five FC Kansas City called up to December camp

Again FC Kansas City has the most players called into national team camp by Sermanni

Erika Tymrak continues to impress and earn call to national team camp
Erika Tymrak continues to impress and earn call to national team camp
Brian Blanco

FC Kansas City continues to dominate the national team call ups. Earlier this week, U.S. Women's National Team head coach Tom Sermanni called up 31 players to attend training camp from December 3rd thru the 15th including 5 current and 1 former FC Kansas City players.

The five players from FC Kansas City include national team regulars Nicole Barnhart, Becky Sauerbrunn and Lauren Holiday. NWSL Rookie of the Year Erika Tymrak has been called up again as well as recently acquired Amy Rodriguez.

This will be the first camp in a year for Rodriguez who sat out the 2013 NWSL season and withdrew from the U.S. camp last January to have a baby. A-Rod was picked up in a trade from Seattle for Kristie Mewis who was then dealt to Boston. Mewis was called up again as well.

Tymrak and the other two  players coming from Bayern Munich in Germany (midfielder Amber Brooks and forward Sarah Hagen) will arrive in camp December 9. Bayern Munich is currently in third place in the German Women's Bundesliga.

There were three college players called up but two of them  (defender Crystal Dunn from North Carolina and midfielder Morgan Brian from Virginia) are still playing in the NCAA Tournament and will come into camp as their schedules allow. The other college player, Julie Johnston (Santa Clara) was also named to the roster and will join the camp on Dec. 4.

U.S. Women's National Team Roster - Detailed Roster

GOALKEEPERS (7): Nicole Barnhart (FC Kansas City), Brittany Cameron (Sky Blue FC), Adrianna Franch (WNY Flash), Jill Loyden (Sky Blue FC), Alyssa Naeher (Boston Breakers), Abby Smith (Texas), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS (10): Rachel Buehler (Portland Thorns FC), Stephanie Cox (Seattle Reign FC), Crystal Dunn (North Carolina), Whitney Engen (unattached), Meghan Klingenberg (unattached), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Amy LePeilbet (Chicago Red Stars), Kristie Mewis (Boston Breakers), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Yael Averbuch (unattached), Morgan Brian (Virginia), Amber Brooks (Bayern Munich), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Julie Johnston (Santa Clara), Carli Lloyd (WNY Flash), Heather O'Reilly (Boston Breakers), Erika Tymrak (FC Kansas City)

FORWARDS (6): Sarah Hagen (Bayern Munich), Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (unattached),Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (WNY Flash)