clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

US Women's National Team roster includes three FC Kansas City players

FC Kansas City, the defending NWSL champions have three players on the roster for qualifying.

Two time NWSL defender of the year Becky Sauerbrunn in on the qualifying roster
Two time NWSL defender of the year Becky Sauerbrunn in on the qualifying roster
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

FC Kansas City's Becky Sauerbrunn, Lauren Holiday and Amy Rodriguez were announced as part of the U.S. Women's National Team 20 player roster for the 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship. Head coach Jill Ellis has named the roster today that will compete for the Championship which will also serve at qualifying for the 2015 Women's World Cup next year in Canada. The roster increases to 23 players for the World Cup.

"I've said on numerous occasions, I feel this is one of the most competitive rosters to make in our recent history," Ellis stated. "The way the players performed during our most recent camp and two games against Mexico certainly made it difficult on the coaching staff. In the end, we feel we came to the best decisions possible and we have depth and versatility at every position. This is a highly motivated group and we're ready for the qualifying tournament."

The 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship features eight countries in two groups of four. Each group's top two finishers after round-robin play advance to the semifinals and the two finalists and the winner of the third-place match will qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup in Canada. The fourth-place finisher will compete in a two-game playoff versus Ecuador, the third place side from South America to earn the last spot in the World Cup.

The U.S. Women begin Group A play at Sporting Park against Trinidad & Tobago on Wednesday, Oct. 15th. The USA will then face Guatemala on Friday, Oct. 17, at  Toyota Park and finish the first round against Haiti on Monday, Oct. 20, at RFK Stadium.

Defending NWSL champions FC Kansas City is well represented with two time NWSL defender of the year Becky Sauerbrunn, 2013 NWSL MVP Lauren Holiday and Amy Rodriguez, the runner-up to the 2014 NWSL Golden Boot. All three have previous World Cup qualifying experience.

Virginia senior Morgan Brian is the only player not in the NWSL at the moment.

Hope Solo being named to the roster is no surprise.

U.S. Women's National Team Roster by Position

GOALKEEPERS (2): Ashlyn Harris (Washington Spirit), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)
DEFENDERS (7): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (Houston Dash), Meghan Klingenberg (Houston Dash), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City)
MIDFIELDERS (6): Morgan Brian (Virginia), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lauren Holiday (FC Kansas City), Carli Lloyd (WNY Flash), Heather O'Reilly (Boston Breakers), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)
FORWARDS (5): Sydney Leroux (Seattle Reign FC), Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (WNY Flash)