clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Becky Sauerbrunn wins 2014 NWSL Defender of the Year

The anchor of the Blue's back line wins Defender of the Year for the second year in a row.

Thad Bell

After another solid performance on FC Kansas City's back line, Becky Sauerbrunn has been named the NWSL Defender of the Year for the second year in a row.

Sauerbrunn anchored one of the better defenses in the league, coming in third in goals allowed. This came after she lost her centerback partner, Lauren Sesselmann, in a move to Houston before the season started. Sauerbrunn played every minute during FC Kansas City's league-best eight shutouts.

The FC Kansas City captain was also named the NWSL Defender of the Year in 2013, making her the first ever repeat winner in the league's short history. So far, she is the only FC Kansas City player to receive an award for 2014, with Coach of the Year, Most Valuable Player and the NWSL Best XI to still be announced. Sauerbrunn is likely a lock to be on the NWSL Best XI.

Ali Kreiger of the Washington Spirit and Julie Johnston of the Chicago Red Stars tied for second in the voting. Sauerbrunn will lead the Blues against the NWSL Shield winners Seattle Reign this Sunday as the two sides fight for the NWSL Championship.