clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dwyer named to MLS All-Star roster

Dom Dwyer, SKC's overlooked forward was named to the All Star game as a replacement for Defoe

Dwyer got Defoe's jersey when they played
Dwyer got Defoe's jersey when they played
Thad Bell

One of the more deserving players that was omitted when the MLS All-Star roster was announced previously will now be there after all. Sporting Kansas City's Dom Dwyer was named an MLS All-Star on Sunday as a replacement for Jermain Defoe. The Toronto FC forward sat out Saturday's match with concerns over a possible sports hernia.

Dwyer was selected to the roster by MLS All-Star Head Coach Caleb Porter and will now join teammates Matt Besler, Aurelien Collin and Graham Zusi. The All Star's will face FC Bayern Munich at 8:30 p.m. CT on Wednesday at Providence Park in Portland, Oregon. 

"I am excited to play with some of the best players in Major League Soccer and in the world," Dwyer said via press release. "It should be a memorable week and I look forward to the events, the game and representing MLS."

Interestingly, Defoe was one of Dwyer's favorite players growing up and when Toronto visited Sporting KC earlier this season, Dwyer made sure to get Defoe's jersey after the game.

With the addition of Dwyer, Sporting Kansas City has four on the game day roster for the All Star game, tied with Seattle. Sporting KC also has two players in the Homegrown Game roster. Jon Kempin who was on loan to Oklahoma City until he was recalled recently and Erik Palmer-Brown will be available for the inaugural match.

2014 MLS All-Star Roster

Goalkeepers: Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)
Defenders : Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Bobby Boswell (D.C. United), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Sean Franklin (D.C. United), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)
Midfielders: Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders FC), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)
Forwards : Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC), Erick Torres (Chivas USA), Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls)