clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Kansas City remains untouched in NWSL Expansion Draft

Two time defending NWSL Champions, FC Kansas City had no players taken in Expansion Draft

FC Kansas City head coach Vlatko Andonovski managed to not lose any player in draft
FC Kansas City head coach Vlatko Andonovski managed to not lose any player in draft
Thad Bell

The NWSL expansion draft for the Orlando Pride joining the league has wrapped up and somehow, FC Kansas City did not have any players taken. Here are the Tom Sermanni's picks for the Orlando Pride:

1.    Meghan Klingenberg (Seattle Reign) sent to Portland to complete Alex Morgan deal

2.    Ashlyn Harris (Washington Spirit)

3.     Taryn Hemmings (Chicago Red Stars)

4.    Jasmyne Spencer (WNY Flash)

5.    Jamia Fields (WNY Flash)

6.    Camille Levin (Sky Blue FC)

7.    Lianne Sanderson (Portland Thorns FC)

8.    Toni Pressley (Houston Dash)

9.    Maddy Evans (Boston Breakers)

10. Aubrey Bledsoe (Sky Blue FC)

The Pride already had picked up Alex Morgan, Kaylyn Kyle and Sarah Haagen. Meghan Klingenberg was sent to Portland to complete the Alex Morgan trade.

There were a number of great players on two time defending champion FC Kansas City's unprotected list but a number of them are retiring or seriously thinking about it. Leigh Ann Brown (nee Robinson) just announced her retirement recently.

Understandably, FC Kansas City is happy that no players were taken. Statement from head coach Vlatko Andonovski via twitter:

The trade of Sarah Hagen last week was to protect Heather O'Reilly from being taken in the expansion draft. Could it have been to take no players at all?

FC Kansas City


Yael Averbuch

Nicole Barnhart

Shea Groom

Amanda Laddish

Rebecca Moros

Amy Rodriguez (USA)

Katelyn Rowland

Becky Sauerbrunn (USA)

Erika Tymrak


Liz Bogus

Leigh Ann Brown

Jen Buczkowski

Kaysie Clark

Katrina Gorry

Caroline Kastor

Sara Keane

Amy LePeilbet

Meghan Lisenby

Heather O'Reilly (USA)

Nikki Phillips

Jenna Richmond

Frances Silva