clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Kansas City players up for US Soccer Female Player of the Year

FC Kansas City's Sauerbrunn and Holiday among five nominees for US Soccer Player of the Year

Sauerbrunn was the best defender for the US and in the NWSL
Sauerbrunn was the best defender for the US and in the NWSL
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Two FC Kansas City players are among the five nominees U.S. Soccer for 2015 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year. Lauren Holiday, Becky Sauerbrunn, Megan Rapinoe, Hope Solo and Carli Lloyd make the list. .

All five players were major contributors to the U.S. Women winning the 2015 Women's World Cup. Carli Lloyd won the Golden Ball as the best player in the tournament while Solo won the Golden Glove as the top goalkeeper. Lloyd, Solo and Sauerbrunn played every minute of the tournament.

  • Sauerbrunn was not recognized by FIFA in the World Cup awards but was acknowledged by an overwhelming majority of analysts and team mates for having been the anchor of the defense that only gave up one goal prior to the final. Becky also won her third straight NWSL Defender of the year and helped FC Kansas City to win their second straight NWSL Championship.
  • Solo did not have a lot to do in most of the games but made the saves she needed. Probably her biggest moment was the long drink of water that helped ice Germany's Sasic into a missed penalty.
  • Rapinoe was one of the best players for the U.S. as normal and played very well in NWSL also.
  • Holiday did not create as much offensively since she was asked to play more defensive minded so Carli Lloyd could be freed up to attack more. Lauren also helped lead FC Kansas City to a second straight NWSL Championship before retiring. Holiday was the 2014 winner of the award.
  • Lloyd had a really good World Cup. With Holiday backing her up she was able to score when needed and the hat trick and goal from midfield against Japan will be well remembered.

The winner will be announced during the pre-game coverage of the USA vs. China PR match on Wednesday, Dec., 16.

A new voting process was put in place starting last year. Votes will be collected from National Team coaches and staff, WNT players who have earned a cap in 2015, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer's Athlete Council, National Women's Soccer League coaches, select college head coaches and select media members.

Who should I vote for?