clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

United States: World Cup Champions

The US women earned their third star for the crest in a 5-2 win over Japan

US team celebrating
US team celebrating
Dennis Grombkowski/Getty Images

Carli Lloyd is a big game player and there is no game bigger than a World Cup final. Lloyd scored in the third minute and then again in the 5th to shock Japan.

FC Kansas City's Lauren Holiday drilled on home in the 14th before Lloyd added another dagger when she scored from the middle of the field to make it 4-0 after just 16 minutes.

Japan tried to climb the mountain back scoring in the 27th and again when the US put one into their own net to reduce it to 4-2 in the 52nd.

Tobin Heath quickly scored a couple minutes later to dash Japan's hopes and the match finished 5-2.

The Americans earned their record third championship and first since 1999 in front of a sellout crowd.

Lloyd was voted the Golden Ball as player of the tournament and Hope Solo the Golden Glove.

FC Kansas City's Becky Sauerbrunn played every minute of the tournament and received immense praise from team mates, coaches and analysts all around the soccer world.