clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Kansas City announces 2016 roster

The two-time defending champions have a very changed roster from the first three years but some key veterans will be going for a third title

Mandy Laddish and Yael Averbuch working hard in preseason
Mandy Laddish and Yael Averbuch working hard in preseason
Thad Bell

On Monday, two-time defending NWSL Champions FC Kansas City announced their 2016 regular season roster. All four of FC Kansas City's draft picks are now signed, Katie Bowen, Alex Arlitt, Alexa Newfield and Brianne Reed (pending league approval).

FC Kansas City kicks off the regular season on April 16 at 7:30. The Blues will face the Western New York Flash at Children's Mercy Park.

ROSTERED PLAYERS (19 of 20 spots filled).

GOALKEEPERS (2): Nicole Barnhart, Katelyn Rowland.

DEFENDERS (6): Becky Sauerburnn (FP-USA), Brittany Taylor, Amanda Frisbie, Katie Bowen (INT'L-NZL), Brianne Reed*, Alex Arlitt.

MIDFIELDERS (8): Alexa Newfield, Desiree Scott (FP-CAN), Heather O'Reilly (FP-USA), Jen Buczkowski, Mandy Laddish, Yael Averbuch, Erika Tymrak, Frances Silva.

FORWARDS (3): Shea Groom, Caroline Kastor, Tiffany McCarty.



*Pending final approval by the league.

The Blues hold the rights to both Amy Rodriguez and Sydney Leroux but they will miss the season due to pregnancy.

We will take a close look at the roster later this week.