clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Desiree Scott will be back with FC Kansas City for 2017

Canada’s allocation list came out and Scott is again with the Blues

Desiree Scott controls the ball in practice
Thad Bell

The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) announced the Canadian subsidized players for the 2017 season. Desiree “The Destroyer” Scott is again allocated to FC Kansas City.

Scott was one of the original FC Kansas City players in 2013. The Canadian midfielder went to England for a couple years before returning to the Blues in 2016. Scott is a regular for the Canadian Women’s National team with 118 appearances.

Canada is subsidizing a total of ten player in the NWSL for 2017.

"We are very appreciative of and excited by Canada Soccer's continued support of the league as well as the meaningful impact their players are having on and off the field," NWSL Commissioner Jeff Plush said via press release. "It is also important for the sustained growth of our league to have the top players from around the world."

The following Distribution-Eligible Individuals, whose rights were relinquished by their team, will be made available in an upcoming NWSL Distribution Draft: Josée Belanger and Kaylyn Kyle.

The following is a club-by-club list of Canadian subsidized players for the 2017 NWSL season:

Boston Breakers: Allysha Chapman

Chicago Red Stars: None

Houston Dash: Janine Beckie, Nichelle Prince*

FC Kansas City: Desiree Scott

North Carolina Courage: Sabrina D'Angelo

Orlando Pride: None

Portland Thorns FC: Christine Sinclair

Seattle Reign FC: Diana Matheson

Sky Blue FC: Kailen Sheridan*

Washington Spirit: Stephanie Labbé, Shelina Zadorsky


* = New Player in 2017