clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Benny Feilhaber and Graham Zusi called up to US Men’s national team

Two Sporting Kansas City players have been called up to USMNT Camp Cupcake.

SOCCER: JUN 18 FIFA World Cup - Group C - SVN v USA Photo by Andy Mead/YCJ/Icon SMI/Icon Sport Media via Getty Images

Sporting Kansas City midfielders Graham Zusi and Benny Feilhaber have been called into United States men’s national team camp, US Soccer officially announced on Thursday.

For Feilhaber, this will be the first time in three years that he’s been called up to the team. His struggles with former US men’s coach Jurgen Klinsmann have been widely publicized, but he’ll get a new chance with new head coach Bruce Arena.

Graham Zusi was interestingly called up as a defender, a position he has only played sparingly with Sporting Kansas City.

A notable absence was Sporting KC defender Matt Besler, who is recovering from an ankle surgery.

The camp will report on January 10, and will prepare for two friendlies, one against Serbia on Jan. 29 in San Diego and one against Jamaica on Feb. 3 in Chattanooga. This camp could be crucial for exposure, as World Cup qualifying opens back up in March.

Here’s the full roster of 32 players called in.

GOALKEEPERS (5): David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS (10): DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (12): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (Unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS (5): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)