clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FC Kansas City exercises options on eight players

The Blues have extended contract extensions to nine other players as well

Thad Bell

FC Kansas City announced on Wednesday that they have exercised options on eight players, bringing their 2018 roster to a total of 12 players.

The players whose options were exercised were defenders Yael Averbuch, Christina Gibbons and Sydney Miramontez; midfielders Caroline Flynn and Mandy Laddish and forwards Shea Groom, Maegan Kelly and Brittany Ratcliffe. They join national team allotted players Desiree Scott, Amy Rodriguez, Sydney Leroux, and Becky Sauerbrunn who are already under contract for next year. Since no players had their options declined, there are no Blues players available in the NWSL re-entry draft.

FCKC also offered extensions to out of contract players Alex Arlitt, Becca Moros, Brittany Kolmel (née Taylor), Katie Bowen, Lo’eau LaBonta, Alexa Newfield, Erika Tymrak, Nicole Barnhart, and Cat Parkhill.

The Blues face an uncertain offseason as rumors have swirled about their possible sale and relocation. There is also the quest of returning to the playoffs after missing the postseason for the past two seasons. FCKC will have the chance to add players in the re-entry draft and in the 2018 NWSL Draft, which will take place in January, 2018.