clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dom Dwyer named to United States Gold Cup preliminary roster

Dwyer joins Matt Besler and Graham Zusi as one of 40 possible players for the United States’ Gold Cup roster

Real Salt Lake v Sporting Kansas City Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

For the first time since he officially became a United States citizen, Sporting Kansas City forward Dom Dwyer might have a chance to play for the US.

Dwyer, alongside defenders Matt Besler and Graham Zusi, has been named to the 40-man preliminary roster for the United States for the 2017 Gold Cup.

Zusi is currently with the United States for three matches, including World Cup qualifiers on June 8 and 11. Besler was originally supposed to be with the national team but was brought back to Sporting KC at the request of manager Peter Vermes.

The roster will need to be cut down to 23 players before the tournament, however roster changes can be made after group play ends. The roster must be made up of the 40-man roster, which has to be cut down no later than June 27. Camp for the Gold Cup begins June 25 before playing a friendly with Ghana on July 1.

The United States is in Group B with Panama, Martinique and Nicaragua.

Any Sporting KC players who stay for the length of the tournament could miss up to four club matches should the United States go all the way.

Here is the full roster.

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)