clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Swope Park Rangers Home Games Moved to Children’s Mercy Park

New, 19 comments

The Rangers will play remaining 15 home matches at Children’s Mercy Park, the home of Sporting KC

Thad Bell

The Swope Park Rangers will host the remainder of their 2018 USL season home matches at Children’s Mercy Park, the club announced on Tuesday.

This decision comes following a controversial match rescheduling earlier this month due to allegations that Shawnee Mission South District Stadium’s field didn’t meet USL requirements.

There is still no explanation from both the league or the front office as to what caused the rescheduling and/or the agreement to play at CMP.

The club also announced a few date and time changes. The postponed match with OKC Energy FC has been rescheduled to September 2nd and the Sacramento Republic FC match on July 27th will be rescheduled at a later date. Also, both the May 26th and September 15th matches will now kick off at 4 pm instead of 7:30 pm.

The Rangers will honor all season tickets and single-game tickets previously purchased, in addition to the $5 student deal offered to students at the box office [Editor: and though it’s not in the press release, previously SKC season ticket members could pay $5 to get in].

Last weekend, the Rangers traveled to Scottsdale, AZ to play Phoenix Rising FC in a 2-2 tie. The Rangers will return to Children’s Mercy Park on Saturday to host Saint Louis FC at 7:30 p.m. CT.

Here is the new remaining home schedule (courtesy of SportingKC.com):

SPR 2018 Home Schedule

Date Time (CT) Opponent
Date Time (CT) Opponent
Saturday, April 28 7:30 Saint Louis FC
Saturday, May 26 4:00 Phoenix Rising FC^
Wednesday, June 13 7:30 Real Monarchs
Sunday, June 24 4:00 Las Vegas Lights FC
Wednesday, July 18 7:30 Orange County SC
Sunday, July 22 4:00 Rio Grande Valley FC
Saturday, Aug. 11 7:30 Portland Timbers 2
Sunday, Aug. 19 4:00 Reno 1868 FC
Wednesday, Aug. 29 7:30 Tulsa Roughnecks FC
Sunday, Sept. 2 4:00 OKC Energy FC*
Sunday, Sept. 9 4:00 Fresno FC
Saturday, Sept. 15 4:00 Saint Louis FC ^
Wednesday, Sept. 19 7:30 San Antonio FC
Sunday, Oct. 14 4:00 LA Galaxy II
TBD TBD Sacramento Republic FC**

^ changed from 7:30 p.m. to 4 p.m.

* changed from Saturday, April 14 to Sunday, Sept. 2

** changed from Friday, July 27 to date TBD