clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

U.S. calls in 25 for training camp to prepare for tournament in Kansas City

Jill Ellis announced the training camp roster yesterday and many names will be familiar to Kansas City fans

United States v Canada Photo by Peter Aiken/Getty Images

U.S. Women’s National Team head coach Jill Ellis announced her training camp roster for the 2018 Tournament of Nations yesterday. A total of 25 players are on the list for training camp The final 23 player list will be announced prior to the tournament starting. Of the 25 players, 24 of them currently play in the NWSL. Stanford’s Tierna Davidson is the lone non-NWSL player called in for this camp.

Kansas City fans will of course recognize many of the players from when FC Kansas City still existed, including three former FC Kansas City players. U.S. and Blues captain Becky Sauerbrunn is of course no surprise as she is a fixture at center back as long as she is healthy. Sauerbrunn played with FC Kansas City all five season they existed and led the Blues to two NWSL Championships.

Amy Rodriguez also won two NWSL Championships with FC Kansas City, scoring the winning goals in both championship finals. Merritt Mathias played for FC Kansas City in 2013-14, winning one NWSL Championship.

The U.S. will begin training July 20th in preparation for opening the tournament against Japan on July 26 at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kansas (6 p.m. CT on FS1).

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster by Position; Caps/Goals

GOALKEEPERS (3): Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns FC; 0/0), Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride; 16/0), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars; 29/0)

DEFENDERS (7): Abby Dahlkemper (NC Courage; 19/0), Tierna Davidson (Stanford; 8/0), Jaelene Hinkle (NC Courage; 8/0), Merritt Mathias (NC Courage; 1/0), Becky Sauerbrunn (Utah Royals FC; 139/0), Casey Short (Chicago Red Stars; 21/0), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC; 17/0)

MIDFIELDERS (8): Morgan Brian (Chicago Red Stars; 75/6), Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars; 61/15), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC; 51/5), Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit; 8/2), Carli Lloyd (Sky Blue FC; 254/100), Samantha Mewis (NC Courage; 36/7), Allie Long (Seattle Reign FC; 39/6), McCall Zerboni (NC Courage; 2/0)

FORWARDS (7): Crystal Dunn (NC Courage; 64/23), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC; 133/19), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride; 142/86), Kealia Ohai (Houston Dash; 3/1), Christen Press (Utah Royals FC; 100/44), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC; 137/37), Amy Rodriguez (Utah Royals FC; 131/30)

Other NWSL players that have been called up:

Japan: Rumi Utsugi (Seattle Reign FC ) and Nahomi Kawasumi (Seattle Reign FC)

Australia: Ellie Carpenter (Portland Thorns FC), Steph Catley (Seattle Reign FC), Caitlin Foord (Portland Thorns FC), Katrina Gorry (Utah Royals FC), Alanna Kennedy (Orlando Pride), Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars), Clare Polkinghorne (Houston Dash), Hayley Raso (Portland Thorns FC), Kyah Simon (Houston Dash), Emily van Egmond (Orlando Pride) and Lydia Williams (Seattle Reign FC).

Full Tournament of Nations schedule and broadcast info, if available:

Thursday, July 26

Children’s Mercy Park - Kansas City, Kansas

Brazil vs. Australia | 3:15 p.m. CT

USA vs. Japan | 6 p.m. CT | FS1

Sunday, July 29

Pratt & Whitney Stadium - East Hartford, Connecticut

Japan vs. Brazil | 3:15 p.m. CT

USA vs. Australia | 6 p.m. CT | FS1

Thursday, August 2

Toyota Park - Bridgeview, Illinois

Australia vs. Japan | 4:45 p.m. CT

USA vs. Brazil | 7:30 p.m. CT | FS1