clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sporting Kansas City 2020 Schedule Released

New, 17 comments

DC United, New York Red Bulls and Inter Miami CF are not on Sporting KC’s 2020 slate.

MLS: Portland Timbers at Sporting Kansas City Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Soccer officially released the 2020 schedule Thursday, giving Sporting Kansas City an idea of who they’re playing — and who they’re not.

For the first time in club history, the New York Red Bulls (NY/NJ Metrostars) and D.C. United are not on Sporting KC’s schedule. In addition, Sporting KC misses out on 2020 expansion squad Inter Miami CF.

Prior to today’s full schedule release, we already knew Sporting KC’s first two matches. They will open their 2020 season on February 29th at the Vancouver Whitecaps in a 9:30 p.m. start, with their home opener coming a week later against the Houston Dynamo (March 7 at 7:30 p.m.)

From there, Sporting KC begins their season with five of their first seven matches on the road, culminating in an away trip to Nashville SC at Nissan Stadium on April 11. Nashville makes the return trip to Kansas City on September 19.

Sporting KC plays home and away with all Western Conference teams and plays the remaining ten Eastern Conference teams once. Sporting KC’s regular season ends against one of those teams: a home bout with New York City FC. Sporting KC and NYCFC are the only inter-conference match-up on Decision Day.

Sporting KC 2020 Schedule

Date Home Away Time
Date Home Away Time
Sat, Feb 29, 2020 Vancouver Whitecaps Sporting Kansas City 9:30 PM
Sat, Mar 7 Sporting Kansas City Houston Dynamo 7:30 PM
Sat, Mar 14 Atlanta United FC Sporting Kansas City 6:00 PM
Sat, Mar 21 San Jose Earthquakes Sporting Kansas City 9:00 PM
Sat, Mar 28 Sporting Kansas City Real Salt Lake 7:30 PM
Sat, Apr 4 LA Galaxy Sporting Kansas City 9:30 PM
Sat, Apr 11 Nashville SC Sporting Kansas City 7:00 PM
Sat, Apr 18 Sporting Kansas City Colorado Rapids 7:30 PM
Sat, Apr 25 Sporting Kansas City Minnesota United FC 7:30 PM
Sat, May 2 LAFC Sporting Kansas City 9:30 PM
Sat, May 9 Sporting Kansas City Toronto FC 3:00 PM
Sun, May 17 Philadelphia Union Sporting Kansas City TBD
Sat, May 23 Sporting Kansas City Seattle Sounders FC 7:30 PM
Sat, May 30 FC Dallas Sporting Kansas City 7:30 PM
Sat, Jun 6 Sporting Kansas City Orlando City SC 7:30 PM
Sat, Jun 13 Portland Timbers Sporting Kansas City 4:00 PM
Wed, Jun 17 Sporting Kansas City LA Galaxy 7:30 PM
Sat, Jun 20 Sporting Kansas City Vancouver Whitecaps 8:00 PM
Sun, Jun 28 Sporting Kansas City Portland Timbers 5:30 PM
Wed, Jul 1 Real Salt Lake Sporting Kansas City 9:00 PM
Sun, Jul 5 Sporting Kansas City LAFC 5:30 PM
Sat, Jul 11 Sporting Kansas City FC Cincinnati 7:30 PM
Sat, Jul 18 Minnesota United FC Sporting Kansas City 7:00 PM
Sat, Jul 25 Sporting Kansas City FC Dallas 7:30 PM
Sat, Aug 1 Montreal Impact Sporting Kansas City 6:00 PM
Sat, Aug 8 Seattle Sounders FC Sporting Kansas City 2:30 PM
Sat, Aug 15 Sporting Kansas City San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 PM
Sat, Aug 22 New England Revolution Sporting Kansas City 6:30 PM
Sat, Aug 29 Sporting Kansas City Columbus Crew SC 7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 5 Chicago Fire Sporting Kansas City 2:30 PM
Sat, Sep 12 Colorado Rapids Sporting Kansas City 8:00 PM
Sat, Sep 19 Sporting Kansas City Nashville SC 7:30 PM
Sun, Sep 27 Houston Dynamo Sporting Kansas City 6:00 PM
Sun, Oct 4 Sporting Kansas City New York City FC 3:30 PM