clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sporting KC II Release 2020 Schedule

The club enters their fifth season in the USL Championship.

Thad Bell

On Thursday the USL Championship released their schedule as the MLS conducted their annual SuperDraft. Tension between the leagues appears to be growing with this being the latest move (remember there is talk of sending all MLS 2 teams to the third division USL League One).

Sporting Kansas City II will enter their fifth season in the USL Championship (and their first not being named the Swope Park Rangers). Their 34 game schedule will be their second consecutive year in the USL Eastern Conference. There is no where to go but up for SKC II as they finished dead last in 2019 as they fielded a youth oriented team with an average age under 21 years old.

In 2020, unlike in 2019, there are no expansion teams in the USL’s Eastern Conference (Memphis 901 FC, Birmingham Legion, Hartford Athletic, Loudoun United FC in 2019). However, there is a new team as Miami FC is replacing the Ottawa Fury. Miami isn’t an expansion team technically though as they were formerly in the NASL and the NPSL. The only expansion team in 2020 is out West. San Diego Loyal SC, which is coached by former LA Galaxy and United States National Team member Landon Donovan, are set to debut this year.

Depending on expansion/contraction at the end of 2020, this may be the last year that SKC II can play each team in a home and away game inside of the same season. There are plenty of rumors of future USL expansion coming. The only teams Sporting KC II play more than once is Indy Eleven and Atlanta United 2. Oddly, they only play cross-state rival St. Louis FC twice.

SKC II will be looking to get off to a hot start as five of their first six games are at home. After that they have a brutal road schedule featuring 10 of the next 14 on the road.

The club will be looking to bounce back in 2020 after a dismal 2019. They will be aided by the return of midfielder Christian Duke who featured extensively in the back-to-back appearances in the USL Cup Final with the then Swope Park Rangers. He will be aided by new midfield signing Duval Wapiwo from Cameroon as well as seven other returning players. More roster moves are likely to be announced in the very near future.

Below is the full schedule courtesy of SportingKC.com. The home games show the opponent in caps. All home games will be played at Children’s Mercy Park once again in 2020.

2020 SKC II Schedule

DATE OPPONENT
DATE OPPONENT
Sunday, March 8 CHARLOTTE INDEPENDENCE
Saturday, March 14 INDY ELEVEN
Sunday, March 22 MEMPHIS 901 FC
Saturday, April 4 at Tampa Bay Rowdies
Saturday, April 11 PITTSBURGH RIVERHOUNDS SC
Wednesday, April 15 NORTH CAROLINA FC
Monday, April 20 at Philadelphia Union II
Saturday, April 25 at Atlanta United 2
Friday, May 1 at Miami FC
Saturday, May 9 at Saint Louis FC
Sunday, May 17 NEW YORK RED BULLS II
Sunday, May 24 LOUDOUN UNITED FC
Saturday, May 30 at Birmingham Legion FC
Sunday, June 7 LOUISVILLE CITY FC
Saturday, June 13 at Indy Eleven
Saturday, June 20 at Charleston Battery
Thursday, July 2 at New York Red Bulls II
Sunday, July 12 TAMPA BAY ROWDIES
Friday, July 17 at Loudoun United FC
Saturday, July 25 at Hartford Athletic
Wednesday, July 29 CHARLESTON BATTERY
Saturday, Aug. 1 at Louisville City FC
Saturday, Aug. 8 PHILADELPHIA UNION II
Saturday, Aug. 15 at North Carolina FC
Saturday, Aug. 22 SAINT LOUIS FC
Saturday, Aug. 29 at Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC
Sunday, Sept. 6 MIAMI FC
Saturday, Sept. 12 BIRMINGHAM LEGION FC
Sunday, Sept. 20 ATLANTA UNITED 2
Saturday, Sept. 26 at Memphis 901 FC
Saturday, Oct. 3 ATLANTA UNITED 2
Wednesday, Oct. 7 HARTFORD ATHLETIC
Saturday, Oct. 10 at Indy Eleven
Saturday, Oct. 17 at Charlotte Independence