clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ICYMI: Victoria Pickett nominated for 2021 NWSL Rookie of the Year

The Kansas City Current midfielder is one of the three NWSL rookies nominated.

OL Reign v Kansas City Photo by Amy Kontras/ISI Photos/Getty Images

Kansas City Current midfielder Victoria Pickett has been nominated for NWSL Rookie of the Year for the 2021 season. The award is presented by Ally. Pickett is the only Kansas City player nominated this season for the league’s end of season awards.

Picket’s 2021 Rookie Season in Numbers:

  • Scored game-winning goal in first franchise win
  • League-leading 46 fouls suffered, committing only 6 fouls all season
  • 2nd on the team with 1,503 minutes played
  • 83.3% success rate of passes completed

The 2021 NWSL Awards are voted in two rounds, with players owners, general managers, coaches, and the media voting in the first round to determine the final nominees. Fans can participate in the final round of the voting process. Fans wishing to vote on the individual award winners, Best XI, and Best XI Second Team can access the voting ballot here. All votes must be submitted by Tuesday, November 9 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The nominees for each of those 2021 NWSL Awards are:

Most Valuable Player, presented by Budweiser: Jessica Fishlock (OL Reign), Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Margaret Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Angela Salem (Portland Thorns FC)

Defender of the Year: Alana Cook (OL Reign), Caprice Dydasco (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Sarah Gorden (Chicago Red Stars), Emily Menges (Portland Thorns FC), Carson Pickett (North Carolina Courage)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Bella Bixby (Portland Thorns FC), Aubrey Bledsoe (Washington Spirit), Kailen Sheridan (NJ/NY Gotham FC)

Rookie of the Year, presented by Ally: Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Victoria Pickett (Kansas City Current), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit)

Coach of the Year: Laura Harvey (OL Reign), Scott Parkinson (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Mark Parsons (Portland Thorns FC)

Additional awards to be voted on in the final round include:

Best XI, presented by Mastercard, honoring a first and second team representing the top 22 players in the league.

Award winners will be announced in the days leading up to the NWSL Championship game, scheduled for Saturday, November 20 at 12 p.m. ET at Lynn Family Stadium in Louisville, Kentucky to air on CBS Television Network and stream live internationally on the NWSL’s Twitch channel.